State Emergency Medical Services Board May 8, 2012 Minutes

Board Members Present: Donald L. DeVries, Esq., Chairman; Vic Broccolino (by phone); David Hexter, M.D.; Murray Kalish, M.D. (by phone); Dean Albert Reece, M.D., Ph.D. (by phone); Sally Showalter (by phone); Mary Alice Vanhoy, R.N. (by phone); Dany Westerband, M.D. (by phone); Gene Worthington (by phone).

Board Members Absent: Sherry Adams; Robert Maloney.

Others Present:

MIEMSS: Dr. Bass; Ms. Abramson; Ms. Alban; Mr. Brown; Ms. Gainer; Ms. Goff; Ms. Mays.

OAG: Mr. Magee; Ms. Sette

R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center: Karen Doyle (by phone).

Chairman DeVries called the meeting to order at 9:06 a.m.

ACTION: Upon the motion of Dr. Kalish, which was seconded by Ms. Van Hoy, the Board approved the minutes of the April 12, 2012 meeting.

NEW BUSINESS

<u>Proposed Regulations – Incorporation by Reference</u>. Mr. Magee asked the Board to approved a proposed amendment to *COMAR 30.01.02.01* to update the EMS Protocols which are incorporated by reference in the MIEMSS *COMAR Title 30* regulations.

ACTION: Upon the motion of Dr. Kalish, which was seconded by Mr. Broccolino, the Board approved the proposed regulations.

<u>Proposed Regulations – Provider Nomenclature</u>. Ms. Sette asked the Board to approve proposed amendments throughout MIEMSS *COMAR Title 30* regulations to conform to changes in the names of the three levels of EMS providers that were made to the Education Article 13-516 during the previous legislative session. These changes reflect the terminology used in the new national standards.

ACTION: Upon the motion of Dr. Westerband, which was seconded by Ms. Showalter, the Board approved the proposed regulations.

ACTION: Upon the motion of Dr. Reece, which was seconded by Dr. Kalish, the Board approved the minutes of the January 17, 2012 Joint Meeting of the EMS Board and SEMSAC.

LEGISLATIVE REPORT

Ms. Gainer reported that the Legislature would reconvene in a special session during the week of May 13, 2012 to address the Bill Reconciliation Financing Act (BRFA) and other revenueproducing bills that did not pass before the 90-day regular session ended in April. She said that when the regular session ended, the BRFA as passed by the House, and the Conference Committee Report on the BRFA, as agreed to by both the House and the Senate and as passed by the Senate, both contained language that would have raised the vehicle registration fee surcharge by \$2 and included a statement of legislative intent regarding the replacement / upgrade of the MIEMSS Communications system. Unfortunately, the Regular session ended before final work could be completed.

Mr. DeVries congratulated the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center on a successful Shock Trauma Gala.

Mr. DeVries announced that the Board would be retiring to Executive Session, after which it would reconvene in Open Session.

ACTION: Upon the motion of Mr. Broccolino, which was seconded by Dr. Westerband, the Board adjourned to Executive Session.

The purpose of the closed session was to carry out administrative functions under State Government Article §10-502 (b), to obtain legal advice from counsel under State Government Article § 10-508 (a) (7), and to discuss certain site reviews and maintain certain records and information in confidence as required by Health Occupations Article §14-506 (b) under State Government Article § 10-508 (a) (13).

The closed session was attended by:

Board Members Present: Donald L. DeVries, Esq., Chairman; Vic Broccolino (by phone); David Hexter, M.D.; Murray Kalish, M.D. (by phone); Robert Maloney (by phone); Dean Albert Reece, M.D., Ph.D. (by phone); Sally Showalter (by phone); Mary Alice Van Hoy, R.N. (by phone); Dany Westerband, M.D. (by phone); Gene Worthington (by phone).

Board Members Absent: Sherry Adams.

Others Present:

MIEMSS: Dr. Bass; Ms. Gainer; Ms. Oliveira (by phone); Mr. Schaefer.

OAG: Mr. Magee; Ms. Sette.

The Board approved the closed session minutes from the April 10, 2012 meeting.

The Board considered a provider disciplinary case.

The Board was provided information regarding EMS educational programs.

The Board reconvened into Open Session at 9:30 a.m.

Board Members Present: Donald L. DeVries, Esq., Chairman; Vic Broccolino (by phone); David Hexter, M.D.; Murray Kalish, M.D. (by phone); Robert Maloney (by phone); Dean Albert Reece, M.D., Ph.D. (by phone); Sally Showalter (by phone); Mary Alice Van Hoy, R.N. (by phone); Dany Westerband, M.D. (by phone); Gene Worthington (by phone).

Board Members Absent: Sherry Adams.

Others Present:

MIEMSS: Dr. Bass; Mr. Brown; Ms. Gainer; Mr. Schaefer.

OAG: Mr. Magee; Ms. Sette

ACTION: Upon the motion of Dr. Kalish, which was seconded by Dr. Hexter, the Board voted to approve the Maryland Park Service as a First Responder Basic Life Support Education Program for a five-year period.

ACTION: Upon the motion of Dr. Kalish, which was seconded by Dr. Westerband, the Board voted to approve the Naval District Washington Fire and Emergency Services, Indian Head, Maryland, as an EMS Refresher Education Program for a five-year period.

There being no further business, the Board adjourned by acclamation.